Oxford First United Methodist Church
Wednesday, July 26, 2017
The Church With A Warm Heart


     The United Methodist Church celebrates the special days of the Christmas season (Advent, Christmas, and Epiphany) and the Easter season (Lent, Easter and Pentecost) as well as special Christian days that fall during what is known as Ordinary Time.   These include Trinity Sunday, All Saints' Day and Christ the King Sunday.
     There are six distinct periods of Christian observances.  Each period focus on a different aspect of the Christian experience and tradition.  These periods (seasons) do not necessarily fall on the same dates each year, but are related to the dates of the two main Christian celebrations of Christmas and Easter.
  • The Advent Season - The four Sundays before Christmas
  • The Christmas Season -  Twelve days from sunset Christmas Eve through Epiphany (Jan. 6)
  • The Season After Epiphany - January 7 until Ash Wednesday
  • The Season of Lent - From Ash Wednesday until Easter
  • The Easter Season  - The first Sunday after the first full moon after March 21 (The Easter Season is fifty days long including the Day of Pentecost)
  • The Season After Pentecost - Begins immediately after Pentecost Sunday until Advent
The Season After Pentecost is known as Ordinary Time.
Lent                    Easter                    Holy Week